Back to top

Statewide IPM Grower Advisory Committee

Established by Governor Pataki in 1992, this group of agricultural producers meets twice yearly, advising us on broad-scale plans and activities that ensure high-level grower input. We ask committee members to stay in touch with their state legislators — providing their perspectives on IPM’s value — and to inform their respective industry groups about IPM Program developments and direction.

SWIGAC’s 25 to 30 members attend two meetings each year:  informed insiders, members share the responsibility of helping the agricultural industry understand and support IPM Program goals.

The role and influence of grower members should not be underestimated. The committee

  • reviews and suggests changes to the New York IPM Strategic Long-Range Plan
  • ranks IPM extension projects by importance
  • approves use of program funds to develop innovative new programming
  • helps shape the IPM Program budget process
  • provides guidance on measuring economic and environmental impacts of IPM

Members interact with the commissioner of the Department of Agriculture and Markets; dean of Cornell's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences; and the IPM Executive Committee to discuss evolving agricultural policies and directions for New York — frequently before these are shared with the industry as a whole. Through providing feedback and helping set meeting agendas, their perspectives are incorporated into the decisions and policies of the IPM Program.

SWIGAC Members

  • Warren Abbott, Abbott Farms
  • Richard Ball, Commissioner, NYS Agriculture & Markets, Division of Plant Industry
  • Cindy and James Barber, Barber's Roadside Market
  • Kathryn Boor, Dean, CALS Dean's Office
  • Jim Carpentier, NYS DEC
  • Juliet Carroll, Fruit IPM Coordinator, NYS IPM Program
  • Jaime Cummings, Livestock and Field Crop IPM Coordinator, NYS IPM Program
  • Joann Delaney, Delaney Farm
  • Carlton ‘Chip’ Ellms, Ellms Family Farm
  • James Eve, Eve Farm Service L.L.C.
  • Jody Gangloff-Kaufmann, Community IPM Coordinator, NYS IPM Program
  • Pete Goderie, Goderie’s Tree Farm
  • Laurie Griffen, Saratoga Sod Farm
  • Luke Haggerty, Constellation Brands
  • Chris Hayman, Morningstar Farms
  • Brymer Humphreys, Field Crops / Vegetable Grower
  • John Ivison, Helena Chemical Co.
  • Jan Jansen, EP Jansen Nursery LLC
  • Margaret Kelly, NYS Dept of Agriculture & Markets, Division of Plant Industry
  • Elizabeth Lamb, Ornamental IPM Coordinator, NYS IPM Program
  • Lou Lego, Elderberry Farm & Restaurant
  • Elise Lobdell, Professional IPM Scout
  • Chris Logue, NYS Department of Agriculture and Markets, Division of Plant Industry
  • Gary Mahany, Mahany Farms
  • Doug Mason, Mason Farm
  • Scott Menrath, NYS DEC
  • Dick Moore, Tree Farm, LLC
  • Robert Noble, Dairy Farmer
  • Joe Nuciforo, Hicks Orchard
  • Jan Nyrop, CALS Dean Office
  • Dan Olmstead, NYS IPM Program
  • Dave Paddock, MB Farms Inc.
  • Brian Reeves, Berry Grower, Onondaga County Veg Growers Assoc.
  • Rick Reisinger, Reisinger’s Apple Country
  • Reenie Sandsted, Baker's Acres
  • Abby Seaman, Vegetable IPM Coordinator, NYS IPM Program
  • Bob Smith, Chestnut Ridge Nursery
  • Dan Steward, Western NY Crop Management Association
  • Julie Suarez, Government Affairs
  • Don Sweet, Crop Consultant
  • Roger Ward, Farm Fresh First, LLC
  • Chris Watkins, Director, CALS Cooperative Extension, Cornell Coop. Ext
  • Mark Wrisley, Organic and Conventional Field Crops producer
  • Mark Zittel, Amos Zittel and Sons, Inc.

updated January 2020